Education Foundation honors eighth grade Select 58 Award recipients for their commitment to service

The Education Foundation of Downers Grove School District 58 proudly announces this year’s Select 58 Award recipients. The Select 58 program annually recognizes 58 eighth graders (29 from Herrick and 29 from O’Neill) who provide outstanding service to their school and community. View this short video celebrating this year’s Select 58 recipients!

“On behalf of District 58 and our Education Foundation, I want to congratulate this year’s Select 58 Award winners,” said Superintendent Dr. Kevin Russell. “I commend each of you for making school and community service a priority during your middle school years. I encourage you to continue this focus in high school and beyond. Thank you for your contributions!”

Each spring, Herrick and O’Neill eighth graders are invited to apply for the prestigious Select 58 Award by completing an application that asks them to describe their school and community service activities, to write two short essays, and to submit a letter of recommendation. A panel of judges reviews and scores each application on a blind basis (identifiable information is removed from each application), and the top 29 students from each school receive the award.

“The Education Foundation is very proud of this year’s Select 58 Award recipients. Although we cannot celebrate this accomplishment in person, we hope our award recipients realize that they have truly made a difference,” said Education Foundation President Janet Alikpala. 

The Education Foundation canceled its annual spring Select 58 Awards Banquet due to the COVID-19 pandemic. All Select 58 Award recipients will receive a Select 58 plaque and shirt, delivered to their homes, the week of June 1, 2020.

Congrats to the 2020 Select 58 award recipients!


  • Ryan Amidei
  • Will Beatty
  • Amelia Bednard
  • Lola Bogwill
  • Ava Bruno
  • Michael Capriotti
  • Charleigh Cash
  • Ryan Eddington
  • Nathan Farrero
  • Malini Fisher
  • Pallavi Fisher
  • Rajan Fisher
  • Anna Geisler
  • Audrey Gorey
  • Amelia Hansen
  • Gianna Hunsche
  • Emily Kyroudis
  • Ava LaBianco
  • Sarah Lampsa
  • Isabel Landman
  • Gina Liu
  • Samantha Naylor
  • Holden Peckenpaugh
  • Rebekah Sandy
  • Audrey Slavkin
  • Jenna Soelberg
  • Annie Stephens
  • Jack Vought
  • Evan Wenger


  • James Boersma
  • Owen Chaidez
  • Sarah Curran
  • Audrey Curulewski
  • William Elliott
  • Hunter Erickson
  • Evelyn Grogan
  • Madison Hahn
  • Evan Henderson
  • Erica Koeplin
  • Jeevan Kolavennu
  • RJ Lube
  • Emily Malorny
  • Brianna Monroy
  • Ashleigh Mungerson
  • Phoebe Musial
  • Nathan Neal
  • Angela Olczyk
  • Sophia Ring
  • Ben Rozell
  • Laurie Schuessler
  • John Sisul
  • Paul Spang
  • Grace Stapleton
  • Teah Stephenson
  • Patricia Suchanek
  • Gracie Swierczynski
  • Christopher Tung
  • Riley White