Education Foundation’s Select 58 banquet honors eighth graders for service

Downers Grove Grade School District 58 celebrated this year’s Select 58 recipients at a formal awards banquet at Herrick Middle School on Wednesday, May 9. Select 58 is an Education Foundation of Downers Grove District 58 program that honors eighth graders who provide outstanding service to their school and community.

The event featured introductions by Herrick Principal Matt Neustadt and Superintendent Dr. Kari Cremascoli; entertainment by the Downers Grove North Chamber Choir; speeches by District 58 alumni Zain Bando and Sarah Ansah; and a delicious Aramark-catered dinner.

The recipients also enjoyed a unique focal point — a beautiful cake that depicted all Select 58 students, courtesy of Downers Grove resident Cathy Oriatti. The event closed with the distribution of Select 58 plaques, courtesy of Blooming Color, and sweatshirts, courtesy of Holy Cow Sports. The event also featured photography services by Miles Boone Photography and flowers/decorations courtesy of Phillip’s Flowers and Gifts and Aramark.

Congrats to the 2018 Select 58 award recipients!


Jessica Adamson
Audrey Arlis
Emily Baldwin
Ana Barnett
Olivia Bouvier
Brooke Buckman
Catherine Mia Chen
Sydney Fleming
George Fotos
Gabriella Frank
Lily Freebery
Madeline From
Gabryel Gruszka
Eleanor Harris
Griffin Ilyavi
Mary Kosowski
Elisenda Lee-Palou
Roy Llewellyn
Andrew Marron
Maeve Miller
Akshi Mistry
Colin Nuttall
Jake Oestermeyer
Melissa Parkinson
Edie Pawlak
Madeline Riske
Adam Sitabkhan
Jade Toledano
Margaret Ward


Olivia Bifulco
Sean Carlson
Kelsey Casella
Colin Coit
Patrick Dunn
Renee Kowalski
Summer Kruk
Jacqueline Kuczkowski
Matthew Kuntaras
Audrey Mahoney
Margaret Mark
Zachary Mead
Katherine Opila
Liana O’Rourke
Ryan Perry
Luke Reeg
Robert Sayre
William Schuessler
Caden Sexton
Clarissa Sigale
Madilyn Sisson
Alexandra Spang
Mika Watson
Kristin Weidner
Hailey Welp
Madolyn Werner
Kyeon Westbrook
Sawyer White
Samantha Wiggins

This year’s Select 58 judges included Foundation directors Swapna Gigani, Karoline Kellam and Beth Taylor, as well as community members Jill Donaldson, James Kelly and Bruce Swanson. The planning committee included Foundation Director Kirat Doshi, Community Relations Coordinator Megan Hewitt and Herrick Secretary Ann Russ, with assistance from Herrick Principal Matt Neustadt, O’Neill Principal Matt Durbala and O’Neill Secretary Amy Peters.